It’s here! The Phantom of the Opera Blogathon!

 

 

“‘I fell back against the wall and he came up to me, grinding his teeth, and, as I fell upon my knees, he hissed mad, incoherent words and curses at me. Leaning over me, he cried, “Look! You want to see! See! Feast your eyes, glut your soul on my cursed ugliness! Look at Erik’s face! Now you know the face of the voice! You were not content to hear me, eh? You wanted to know what I look like! Oh, you women are so inquisitive! Well, are you satisfied? I’m a very good-looking fellow, eh?… When a woman has seen me, as you have, she belongs to me. She loves me for ever. I am a kind of Don Juan, you know!” And, drawing himself up to his full height, with his hand on his hip, wagging the hideous thing that was his head on his shoulders, he roared, “Look at me! I am Don Juan Triumphant!”‘”

All you phans organize a mob and prepare to storm the cellars, because, it’s here! The Phantom of the Opera Blogathon! Be sure you’ve all read the Phantom’s specifications in the PEPS memorandum book, and always keep your hand at the level of your eyes, because we’re venturing into the depths. All you need to know is don’t go down below, but you’ll be safe if you just listen to the Music of the Night! From now until the 25th, we will be celebrating the 110th anniversary of the serialization of the original novel by writing about all things phantasmic!

For the present, I must conclude this very necessary introduction by thanking Gabriela of Pale Writer (who was the first person to ever join a PEPS blogathon without first being invited), Mike of Mike’s Take on the Movies, the writer of the first article to be submitted, Eric Binford of Diary of a Movie Maniac, the author of our review of the 1990 miniseries, MovieCritic of Movies Meet Their Match, the authoress of our review of the 2004 film, Aurora of Once Upon a Screen, a possible, unconfirmed participant (whom we must sincerely hope will find the time in her busy schedule to join us), and more particularly, my dear sister, Tiffany. And I should be ungrateful indeed if I omitted, while standing on the threshold of this dreadful and veracious blogathon, to thank the president of PEPS, my dear father, James Brannan, for giving up his most valuable time to participate. 

To check the Phantom’s rules in the PEPS memorandum-book, or to acquire one of my dramatic banners, you may see the announcement here.

If you refuse, you will submit your article to a blogathon with a curse upon it.                                          Take my advice and be warned in time.     

     O. G.                                                                                   

The Roster Thus Far:

The Phantom of the Opera (1962) by Mike of Mike’s Take on the Movies

 

Image result for Michael Crawford

I Worked for the Phantom! by James Brannan of the Pure Entertainment Preservation Society

Movie Review: The Phantom of the Opera (2004) by MovieCritic of Movies Meet Their Match

 

The Phantom of the Opera (1990, TV – MINI-SERIES) by Eric Binford of Diary of a Movie Maniac

 

Image result for phantom poster yeston and kopit

The Singing Sweethearts in Yeston and Kopit’s “Phantom” by Rebekah Brannan of the Pure Entertainment Preservation Society

 

Image result for phantom of the opera original poster webber

The Phantom in 49: Breening “The Phantom of the Opera” by Andrew Lloyd Webber by Tiffany Brannan of the Pure Entertainment Preservation Society

 

Screenshot 2019-09-30 at 10.21.45

The Phantom of the Opera Is Here: “Phantom of the Opera” (1925) by Gabriela of Pale Writer

 

Screenshot 2019-10-01 at 11.13.53

Christine, Christine: Phantom of the Opera (1943) by Gabriela of Pale Writer

Beware of more articles in the near future, as we are extending this blogathon through the rest of this week! After all, you can never have too much of the Phantom!

 


 

Add a heading (5)

Come back in October for the third year of our annual Code celebration, The Third Annual Breening Blogathon! It is running from October 11-14 in honor of Joseph I. Breen’s 131st birthday. Whether you want to breen a film, review a new Code movie, or analyze some aspect of the years when Hollywood was governed by the Code, this is your chance to write about the topics which we always cover. What are your thoughts on the Code? This is your chance to play PCA-member or pretend that you are a member of PEPS. Let’s make this our most successful blogathon yet!

Follow us to bring back the Code and save the arts in America!

We are lifting our voices in classical song to help the sun rise on a new day of pure entertainment!

Only the Code can make the sun rise on a new day of pure entertainment!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “It’s here! The Phantom of the Opera Blogathon!

Leave a comment