Mother’s Day: Three Code Mothers

How does Hollywood depict motherhood? I cannot speak definitely about pre-Code and post-Code films, but the Code demanded that mothers be reverently and adoringly presented. This was largely because of Joseph Breen's great respect and love for his own mother; he is quoted as saying, "What formal training I have had, I got entirely from … Continue reading Mother’s Day: Three Code Mothers

Rascal from 1969: The Only Film to Make Me Cry

This article is part of the Tearjerker blogathon: https://debravega.wordpress.com/2017/02/26/announcing-the-no-youre-crying-blogathon-our-favorite-tearjerker-films/ I did not have difficulty choosing the topic for this article, since this is the only movie in recent years to make me cry. Although I am a very sensitive young lady, I never cry during even the saddest movies; I know how to keep my … Continue reading Rascal from 1969: The Only Film to Make Me Cry